Advertisements

Delete a document library in SharePoint

Applies to: SharePoint Online, SharePoint Server 2016, SharePoint Server 2013 Enterprise, SharePoint Server 2010, Windows SharePoint Services 3.0.

You can delete SharePoint libraries once they are useless to you. After you delete a library, you also erase documents, metadata about the documents, version history, library settings and specific permission levels that are associated with the library. If you delete one mistakenly or change your mind, depending on how your site is set up, you can restore a document library from the recycle bin. For more info, see Restore items in the Recycle Bin of a SharePoint site.

To create a library, see Create a document library in SharePoint.

Note: To create or delete a library, you must have permission to create or manage lists.

Note: A SharePoint site can be significantly modified in appearance and navigation. If you cannot locate an option, such as a command, button, or link, contact your administrator.

Online, 2019

Delete a library in SharePoint

  1. Find the library you want to delete.
  1. Click Settings  Settings button from SharePoint Online , and then press Library settings.
Settings menu with Library Settings selected
  1. In the settings page, click Delete this document library under Permissions and Management.
The delete document library in the library settings page
  1. If you’re sure you want to delete the library, click OK.
Confirmation dialog box when deleting a library

Note: The title of the dialog may vary whether you’re using SharePoint Online, or SharePoint Server 2019.

Top of Page

Other resources

Top of Page

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: