Remove an app from a site

Applies to: SharePoint Online, SharePoint Server 2016, SharePoint Foundation 2013, SharePoint Server 2013 Enterprise SharePoint Server 2013.

If an app on your site no longer serves any purpose, you can delete it through the Site Contents page.

Important:  After you delete an app, you will indefinitely neglect recovering any data that the app may be storing in the location where it’s hosted. If you want to keep this data, you must save it prior to deleting the app. Find the app you plan to remove, and manually copy the data to an alternate format (some apps may provide you with a way to export data).

To delete an app, you must have Full Control permissions for a SharePoint site. If you are a Site Owner, you have this permission.

Remove an app from a site

  1. Select Settings Office 365 Settings button and then press Site Contents.
  1. On the Site Contents page, locate your preferred app to erase and select the ellipses () to check the app properties dialogue.
  1. In the callout, choose the ellipses () and then pick Remove on the menu.
Screenshot of the remove command on the properties callout for an app.
  1. Press OK.

Note: If you don’t see an option to Remove, you may need to click Return to classic SharePoint at the bottom left of the screen. After you’ve removed your app, you can use the Back button in the browser to return from classic view.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: