Share content in a meeting in Teams

Desktop

Applies to: Microsoft Teams.

To share your screen in a meeting, press Share Share screen button in your meeting controls. Then, select to showcase your whole desktop, a window, a PowerPoint file, or a whiteboard.

Note: If you’re using Teams on the web, you’ll only be able to share your screen if you’re using Google Chrome or the latest version of Microsoft Edge.

Share tray in a Teams meeting
Share your…If you want to…Great when…
DesktopPresent your entire screen, including notifications and other desktop activity.You must seamlessly share several windows.
WindowDisplay only one window, and no notifications or other desktop activity.You simply have to present one thing and want to keep the rest of your screen to yourself.
PowerPointPresent a PowerPoint file others can interact with.You have to share a presentation and want others to be able to run through it at their own pace.
WhiteboardCollaborate with others in real- time.You want to sketch with others and have your notes linked to the meeting.

After you’re done sharing, locate your meeting controls and click Stop sharing.  

Note: If you’re using a Mac, you’ll be prompted to change your privacy settings before you’re able to share your screen. Also, window sharing isn’t available for Linux users.

Include system audio 

Sharing your system audio enables you to stream your computer audio to meeting participants through Teams. You can employ it to play a video or audio clip within a presentation.

To share your system audio, press Share   Share screen button  in your meeting controls and then Include system audio. Once you share, all your system audio, even notifications, will be ingrained in the meeting. For more on sharing system audio, check out Share system audio in a Teams meeting or live event.

Notes: 

  • You’re unable to import your computer’s audio while sharing a PowerPoint file or Whiteboard.
  • At the moment, we only support sharing system audio on Windows devices.

Share PowerPoint slides in a meeting 

If you decide to share a PowerPoint file in a meeting, participants will get some unique capabilities:

  • They’ll be able to navigate around to various slides without disrupting the primary presentation.
  • They can sync their view back to the presenter’s view with one click.

Note: If you don’t want people to be able to independently navigate through a PowerPoint file you’re sharing, select  Prevent participants from independently navigating a shared PowerPoint file  (it’s next to Stop presenting) to prevent it.

  1. Click Share Share screen button in your meeting controls.
  2. In the PowerPoint section, pick your desired file. Press Browse to find another file.

Notes: 

  • The PowerPoint section displays the most recent files you’ve opened or edited in your team SharePoint site or your OneDrive. If you pick one of these files to present, every meeting participant can read the slides during the meeting. Their access permissions to the file beyond the meeting will remain the same.
  • If you choose Browse and select to showcase a PowerPoint file that hasn’t been uploaded to Teams before, it will get uploaded within the meeting. If you’re presenting in a channel meeting, the file is uploaded to the Files tab in the channel, where all team members can reach it. If you’re presenting in a private meeting, the file is uploaded to your OneDrive, where solely the meeting participants can enter it.

Give and take control of shared content

Give control 

If you want another meeting participant to alter a file, aid you present, or explain something, you can delegate control to that person. You will both be in control of the sharing, and you can take retain control anytime.

Note: When you’re sharing an app, only give control to people you trust. People you give control to may send commands that could affect your system or other apps. We’ve taken steps to prevent this but haven’t tested every possible system customization.

  1. On the sharing toolbar, press Give control.
  2. Pick the intended name of your sought person to assign control to. Teams delivers a notification to that person to inform them that you’re sharing control. Amid you sharing control, they can enforce selections, edits, and other revisions to the shared screen.
  3. To retain control back, click Take back control.

Take control 

To take control while another person is sharing, pick Request control. Then, the person sharing will approve or deny your request.

While you have control, you can implement selections, edits, and other modifications to the shared screen.

Once you’re finished, choose Release control to stop sharing control.

Zoom in to shared content

Want to get a clearer look at shared content?

Select and drag to see more areas.

And to zoom in or out, test the following:

  • Pinch in or out on your trackpad;
  • Select the keyboard shortcuts Control Plus sign and Control Minus sign;
  • Hold the Control key and scroll with your mouse.

Note: Mac trackpads don’t support zoom in meetings. If you’re on a Mac, use one of the other options. If you’re using Linux, giving and taking control of shared content isn’t available at this time.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: