Stop sharing OneDrive or SharePoint files or folders, or change permissions

Applies to: Office for business SharePoint Server 2019 OneDrive for Business Office.com OneDrive.

You can prevent sharing an item, see who it’s shared with, or modify the permissions others have to it, if you’re the owner of the item.

Note: You can’t change the permission of a sharing link from edit to view or from view to edit. The way around it is to delete your sharing link and create a new one with a different permission.

What you see varies depending whether you’re signed in with a personal account or a work or school account.

OneDrive – Business, SharePoint Online

Stop or change sharing

Files and folders can be shared by sending someone a sharing link, or by giving them direct access to the file or folder. (People may also have access to a file or folder if they’ve been given access to the site itself.)

If you are the file owner, you can stop sharing the file or folder.

If someone has been given direct access, or has access through a specific people link, you can also change the sharing permissions between view and edit.

Here are the steps:

1. Choose your desired file or folder to stop sharing.

2. Pick Information Information in the upper-right corner to open the Details pane.

Note: (The Information icon is right under your profile picture. If you don’t see it, ensure you only have one file or folder chosen – it won’t display if you have several items selected.)

3. On the Details pane, beneath the Has Access header, you’ll notice the People icon, the Links icon, and/or the Email icon. These options change based on how you have shared the file or folder. Click Manage access and:

To stop sharing the file entirely, press Stop sharing.

To delete a sharing link, select the ellipsis (…) beside the link, then choose the X adjacent to the link to erase it. (You’ll receive a prompt asking you if you’re sure you want to delete the link – if so, press Delete link.)

To stop sharing with specific people, widen the list under a specific people link and press the X to delete someone.

To edit permissions or stop sharing with someone who has direct access, below Direct Access, select the drop-down beside the person’s name and pick your preferred option.


Tip: You can also manage a file or folder’s sharing permissions through the OneDrive desktop app for Windows 7, Windows 10, and Mac. All you need to do is right-click the shared file or folder in your OneDrive folder on your computer, and select Share, then select More The More Options button on OneDrive.com. > Manage access, and a dialogue box will open on your desktop so you can make your selections as described above in step 3.

See the items you’ve shared

On OneDrive.com, select Shared in the left pane, and then select Shared by me.

Learn more

Office 365 advanced protection

Need more help?

Get online help
See more support pages for OneDrive and OneDrive for Business.
For the OneDrive mobile app, see Troubleshoot OneDrive mobile app problems.

E-mail support
If you still need help, shake your mobile device while you’re in the OneDrive app or email the OneDrive support team. To contact OneDrive for Business support from your PC or Mac, select the OneDrive icon in the notification area or menu bar, then select More > Send feedback > I don’t like something.

OneDrive for Business Admins can also view the OneDrive for Business Tech CommunityHelp for OneDrive for Business Admins, or contact Microsoft 365 for business support.

Got feedback?
OneDrive UserVoice is your place to suggest the features you’d like to see us add to OneDrive. While we can’t guarantee any specific features or timelines, we will respond to every suggestion that gets at least 500 votes.

Go to the OneDrive UserVoice.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: